Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How To Test Internet Speed

  1. #1
    Newb
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How To Test Internet Speed

    Hi Folks,
    I just purchased the LST and LSTS bundle. The LST Help says that instructions for testing Internet speed are beyond the scope of the Help file and to go to the website for more information. However, I cannot find instructions for testing Internet speed at the TotuSoft website, so I decided to try this forum. Can anyone give me the instructions for testing Internet speed or provide a link to where they are? Thanks much, Joe

  2. #2
    Home Network Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi Joe,

    Basically, you need to have a computer running LST Server offsite and a computer running LAN Speed Test (Client) onsite. The offsite router needs to have port 4456 open and forwarded to the computer's LAN IP (shown in LST Server window under Server Status) that is running LST Server. Then on your onsite computer, you would enter the WAN IP address of the offsite network (should be the WAN IP address shown under Server Status on LST Server at the offsite location).

    For example... hypothetically, at work, I have a computer that I run LST Server on. First, I make sure that it is using port 4456 (under Server Status window on LST Server). Also under the status window, I see that the LAN IP address is 192.168.0.10 and the WAN IP address is 123.132.10.12. On my router (here at work still), I go to the port forwarding option and open port 4456 and forward it to IP address 192.168.0.10. I have to keep this computer on with no sleeping or hibernating during the time that I want to do my testing from home. Now, at home, I start LAN Speed Test and enter the WAN address of the computer running LST Server in the 'Folder or Server IP:' window (123.132.10.12) and begin the test. First time running, I make sure that my settings are set for slower connections (ie. 'Test Packet Size' = 100 KB and 'Number of Test Packets' = 5). If all is set up correctly, the test should begin and complete as though you are doing a LAN Speed Test (only slower). You can adjust your settings with larger Test Packet Size and higher Number of Test Packets as you would like once you see how long it takes to test over your internet speed, etc.

    -Pete

  3. #3
    Newb
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Pete,
    Thanks for the instructions - very helpful! I'll give it a spin and post back here if I run into any problems. Btw, I think you should have these instructions at the TotuSoft site and/or pin them here (if this forum supports pinning or sticky posts). Regards, Joe

  4. #4
    Newb
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Other than using static IP's, sk, how about testing with a 2nd PC at the same location using the Routers EWAN port??

    Specifically what and where in the Routers settings that would have to be changed
    and
    what settings under the PC NIC's Properties would have to be changed?

    I know it can be done, but the confusion is what settings and where to change.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Home Network Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi,

    I don't quite understand what you are trying to do. Can you explain more about your idea? Are you trying to test through the internet at just one location?

    -Pete

  6. #6
    Newb
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    To use the 'Server' program as the source in one PC connected to the WAN port of a Router to simulate a Internet speed test, but under more controlled conditions. Eliminating any outside 'variables'.
    The other PC as normal connection to a LAN port.

    I know it can be done, I attempted it once, but with mixed results since it's confusing (to me) regarding the Routers settings.
    The only part that is easy is the destination PC (LAN port) where no or little change should be needed if using a static IP (which I have always done).

    I was given this, but it isn't clear what/where in the Router the changes occur;

    PCA
    1.1.1.1/24
    Gateway 1.1.1.2

    Router WAN
    1.1.1.2/24

    Router LAN
    192.168.1.1/24
    DHCP off

    PCB
    192.168.1.2/24
    Gateway 192.168.1.1

    He also suggested different WAN subnets for each PC and setting PCB in the DMZ.

    This is why I posted those screen shots.

  7. #7
    Home Network Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    If I understand correctly, this will basically test your LAN and your router's speed or performance going through the WAN port. This will not test the speed of your WAN or Internet. If this is what you want to do (test the LAN & router), I can help you adjust your settings above to do this.

    -Pete

  8. #8
    Newb
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    There are plenty of sites that test your ISP's performance thou many are questionable due to numerous factors.

    Fully testing the Routers performance would/should consist of LAN to LAN port (the easy part) and WAN to LAN port. The n2nd is the reason of my post which is the hard part since you have to change the Routers settings.
    I also discovered (by accident)that another, what I call a 'internal' test can be done, thou I'm not exactly sure what it actually is testing (the 'route') inside a PC by setting the server address to the same static IP address of the PC it's running in (instead of using the IP of the remote PC). IOW's both programs running on the same PC.

    For those that have an abundance of $$ and/or are out to impress that have Gigabyte ISP service testing the WAN to LAN is even more important as the bottleneck could very well be the WAN port. (All you have to do is go over to DSLReports and see what I mean)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •